Do You Dream In Color? Is in action

“You have brains in your head, you have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose.”

– Dr. Seuss

Tonight was a perfect ending to a perfect day.

Today while waiting in Penn Station for my train home, after spending the day in NYC, I came across the reason that I was meant to be in the city on this day. While I was in the main area in front of the time board, I felt a tap on my shoulders. I turned around and saw the tapper was a young girl with blond hair, blue eyes and a blue studded nose ring. She proceeded ask me, speaking with the most adorable southern accent, if I new what train she needed to take to get to her hotel. It turned out she needed the same train as me. Her stop was the one after mine. I told her I’d be happy to help her and I invited her to wait with me.

We sat  down on the train together. Once we were relaxed she volunteered an abundance of information about her life. She went on to tell me how she was sent here from Texas for 2 weeks by her “nothing” job and felt she could do so much more with her life. I explained to her all about Do You Dream In Color? and encouraged her to follow her dreams.

Naturally she had reasons why she couldn’t follow her dreams. My new friend explained that was 27 years old and she did not want to be a 40 year old college student. She continued to argue that she wants to be a museum curator but that would never happen because she didn’t know how. I replied with an explanation that she will be 40 no matter what. She might as well make the most of it. Her response – a “Touché.” She was impressed by my theory. I also told her that if she DID know how to be museum curator than she wouldn’t need to go to college. Isn’t the whole point of college to learn how to do what you want to do? Do nurses know how to give shots before they begin nursing school? Who would even let a nurse practice giving them a shot with out the nurse having some sort of educational background? I told her to take some art books out of the library and warm up to the art world. Her face lit up when I pointed that out to her. I don’t think she is as afraid of school anymore.

Unfortunately we did not exchange contact information. I won’t ever know if she went on to pursue her dreams.

I hope that she does.

http://www.facebook.com/DoYouDreamInColor

Leave a Reply

