Patience is a virtue…

Here I am posting an image for you to view. This is a screenshot of the painting by Joseph Seymour Guy. What do you think?

Life is about trusting your feelings and taking chances, losing and finding happiness, appreciating the memories and learning from the past.

The power of patience! Waiting is a time to prepare. Every baby step that you take on your journey adds up. I know your dreams may feel like a far away place. That doesn’t mean you shouldn’t try at all! It may seem like the work you put in is taking you nowhere, but a delay does not mean denial. You may get lost a little bit on your way, but don’t get frustrated, keep moving and enjoy the ride. Always stay focused on the big picture. On Wednsday August 8th of 2012, I took myself on a trip to the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City. I went alone, as I do so often to gather my thoughts with out distractions. I like to wonder and think by myself this way I can develop my own opinions. I welcome the feedback of friends after the occasion. On this day I ventured into the new American Wing. Every piece on display was wonderful, but there was one that caught my eye in particular. I noticed Mr. Joseph Seymore Guy’s The Story of Goldenlocks. I passed by the painting casually walking, I noticed the piece out of the corner of my eye, took a second glance and stopped to a halt. My heart melted from what I was seeing.

Mr. Guy provided us with the opportunity to peek into the window of an 1870’s world. Here is a pre teen girl who is reading the classic tale of Goldi Locks and the Three Bears to two young boys. Being a mother is an idea that most young girls dream of. Her name isn’t given, but I’m going to call her Madeline, because she looks like a Madeline. By taking on the task of reading to the two boys, Madeline is practicing and preparing for the day when she will have children of her own. She’s waiting quietly and expectantly, she is not giving up. When her time comes she will be ready.

What about the story of Goldilocks? Goldilocks is a woman who knows what she wants. Her story is a tale of experiments. She is a persistant little character. After a day of wandering the woods, Goldilocks is tired and hungry. She dreams to relax. Goldilocks wanders into this random house in the forest. Does she care who it belongs to? Not really, she just wants what she wants. She tastes all of their food, sits in their chairs and tests their beds. This young girl seems inconsiderate but, she just does not want to stop until she finds what she is after. Goldilocks doesn’t have instant results. Her first try is not the winning moment. She doesn’t get frustrated though, she remains patient. Through the long tedious process of trial and error, Goldilocks reaches her goal.

To me Goldilocks and the Three Bears is a fairy tale because the quantity of this young girls experiments have been simplified to three. I also think the reaction of the three grizzly bears, finding a little girl after she corrupted their humble home is dilouteed a little.  As you can see it takes a lot of work to make your dreams real. It took Goldilocks a long time to find her perfect fit. You are not the only one! Life takes so much effort. For most people, much more than three tries of searching and finding is needed to fulfill their dreams. As for the young girl in Seymores painting, she knows what she is doing. She dreams of being a mother. Maybe she is not a mother yet and she knows she won’t be for some time. But she is making it happen. She is practicing and preparing. When the time is right, thanks to all of her practicing and preparations, she will be ready. Everything will fall into place smoothly.

And so, This painting as a whole—it took years and years of building up to create this story. First, Mr. Guy—he needed to know the story of the Three Bears before he started this painting, which was written by Robert Southey in 1837.  And then with my knowledge of Art History and understanding how the work is done. I bet a million bucks, Mr. Guy went through a similar process just as Goldilocks did, in directing the best display to find his right fit for the painting. I’m sure he had to find the perfect young girl and the perfect young boys. Not every home looks as perfect as the one he painted, he might have even controlled where the folds of the blanket fall. The MET does not have his sketches on view but, he definetly must have set up these characters in real life to pose for him, I bet he sketched and sketched over and over again until he found the right nook and craneys to emphasize, and finally went on to paint the final piece.

13 responses to “Patience is a virtue…

  1. Hi. I just want to say that it was a nice reading. I hope you come out with more interesting posts, because I bookmarked your website. All the best.

  2. I love the Metropolian Museum of Art! I really liked your Look For Chua piece! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  3. Hi. I just want to say that it was a nice reading. I hope you come out with more interesting posts, because I bookmarked your website. All the best.

  4. Thank you so much! I can’t tell you how much I appreciate corrections. I went back into it. I think I found what you saw. Will you please let me know if I was correct?

  5. Are you writing almost all your blog posts? If you do, you actually have a rather wonderful writing structure. I was enthusiastic about your title “Patience is a virtue… Rizzie's World”. Scanning your content helped bring me enjoyment in addition to inspiration. I happen to be making the effort to understand from alternative online websites as a way to further improve my very own site. Regards : ) Terese Genier

    • Hello! Thank you very much. I do write all of my own stuff. Anything that I find from other sources I make a very strong point to reference. It means a lot to me that you appreciate my work and took the time to tell me so. Cheers! 🙂

  6. When are you going to post again? You really entertain a lot of people!

  7. I love your writing style genuinely enjoying this web site.

  8. Terrence Kowalsky

    Hey, you used to write wonderful, but the last several posts have been kinda boringโ€ฆ I miss your great writings. Past several posts are just a little bit out of track! come on!

Leave a Reply

