Look for Chua!

Ladies and Gentleman, If I may-I would like to take this weeks post as an opportunity to share with you about my new friend Chua. Look for Chua. He is a New York City taxi cab driver. I would like to tell you about this past weekend, Saturday, September 22nd-to be specific, when I met him.

It certainly is incredible to think that my own personal world is the world-my world. Yet so many other people on this earth have their own world and possibly feel the same way. We all bring our visions together to create this massive interactive society of worlds. On planet Earth there is over 7 billion people in existence. In New York City there over 8 million people. What does it take to be noticed here? to feel like you’re world actually means something amongst everyone else world? Not to get too personal but, when I’m in the shower, no one else is there to bother me, and I am the center of my world. When I get out, I grab my big fluffy towel to dry off, and I’m safe, and dry in my own world. We aren’t always protected by a warm comfy towel. Sometimes I may feel like I’m on top of the world, on my journey through life, other times I feel like i’m just one tiny little grain amongst all thee other people in existence.

On Saturday I spent the day galavanting the city. By the end of the night I had made my way down to St. Marks Place. The path from St. Marks Place to Penn Station is not really reasonable walking distance. After walking all day I was tired and ready to take a taxi cab back to Penn. During the ride I enjoyed a pleasant conversation with the driver. He had a heavy accent, I could tell that he wasn’t from the U.S. I asked him about himself and what he was doing here. He told me his name is Chua, and he came here from Hong Kong to start a better life for his family. Chua wanted to give his children the opportunity to go to college and create great lives for themselves. Chua works his tush off so that his children can go to college. This man spends every day driving strangers around all over the city. Some strangers are kind to him, some are not so kind. Some give him a great tip and some don’t give him any. So much of his time- his life, is sacrificed for his children, to help them make their dreams come true.

Now, here is the exciting part!! During the ride, I knew where I was, I just didn’t want to walk. After a portion of the way, I knew that if I got out now and jogged at a moderate speed I’d make it to Penn Station in a timely manner (I wanted to get out sooner then later because I didn’t have much cash in my pocket and I wanted to save some as much as I could, just incase I encountered an emergency). The sky was dark out and the weather was drizzly, but I knew I would’nt melt. I told Chua he had taken me far enough. He knew my ultimate destination was Penn Station and asked multiple times if I was sure that I wanted to get out. I told him I am positive, this stop is great, I paid Chua, told him it was a pleasure chatting with him and thanked him for the ride. Shortly after I got out of the cab it began to pour! Now my un-meltable feeling was backfiring. All I could think about was making it to my train on time and wrapping myself in a big fluffy bath towel when I got home. Beeeeep!! My dreams were interrupted by a loud car horn. Once, twice, then over and over again. The sound was getting closer each time. I looked over my right shoulder and saw the noise was coming from my new friend Chua!! He noticed the rain and knew I had a distance to walk so he came to rescue me! He honked and told me to get in. While waving my arms, I said no, no, no and he kept insisting that I hop in. It was raining and the ride was tempting, so finally I got in. We chatted some more the rest of the ride to Penn. When we arrived I offered to pay him the rest of the fee but good old Chua refused to take any money! So-not only did this stranger, a cab driver, rescue me from the rain but he gave me a ride for free!! He wouldn’t even accept a tip. This random person rescued me from the rain. He wasn’t a creep nor was he a perv. I could tell he did this because he was genuinely doing a good deed out of the kindness of his heart. He took care of me as he would take of his own child.

After I got on the train I sat down, relaxed an processed the recent activity. I didn’t need the comfort of a five star hotel bath towel any more. There we were, two harmless strangers amongst the milions of people in this world. I had never met him before and will probably never see him again. I don’t know what the world is like through his eyes. But Chua took care of me. The situation I had just been a part of engulfed me in a warmth of emotion. Sitting there in wet clothes meant nothing to me. I was so happy to have experienced such a kind act. This moment sent me back to the top of my world.

Please keep Chua in your hearts for being so kind. If you ever happen to run into him, please wish him well!!

Leave a Reply

