When life hands you lemons… ROCK ON!

And I will show that whatever happens to anybody it may be turned into beautiful results.

Walt Whitman

The Two Fridas, painted in 1939
This painting is a self-portrait of Frida Kahlo. Represented is split between her two selves. From her period of turmoil and self-doubt. Frida on the right is her Mexican self in traditional tehuana dress. The Frida on the left is her European self dressed in a colonial white dress.

Whatever lemons life hands you, you have to keep going, you have to rock on and pursue the beauty that can come from it. No one’s life is easy. We all have difficult situations, even celebrities like Surrealist artist Frida Kahlo. Somewhere down the line, someone made the analogy, that obstacles are equivalent to lemons, this person said… When life hands you lemons, make lemonade. No matter what the situation is, beautiful results will occur if you keep going. Sometimes things happen that may seem like the end of the world, but just keep trying. Frida is a great example of someone who managed to turn bitter lemons into beauty.

Everyone has problems. I do, Frida Kahlo did, so do plenty of other people in the world, I bet. Sometimes it feels like whatever problem we are going through, it is the worst problem in the world. Just a few weeks ago I was in an unpleasant situation. It wasn’t life or death. I’m still here. I didn’t lose my home, I wasn’t physically hurt, neither was anyone else. I’m still pretty much me, just with another experience. In my mind, it was rough patch to go through. I wanted to drop everything and create a new life. I wanted to move to Hawaii. I wanted to abandon everything I had going on here and start fresh in a tropical world. I felt like I was the only one who had such a situation. If I moved to beautiful Hawaii everything would be fixed. Let me remind you I have never been there. I’ve only experienced it second – hand through stories and photos. This is a place where no one has problems ever…  I could start fresh and adapt to their completely problem free environment where I am guaranteed to never encounter a problem again, right? Right.

Leaving everything to move to Hawaii was the most logical way to solve the issue. Now I am laughing at how silly this idea was. Moving to Hawaii would be wonderful, but it wouldn’t have been the solution. Problems probably occur there too. Shortly after my situation was done and solved, a friend  of mine, who knew nothing about my issue and wanting to move, told me something very similar! She said she was upset and just wanted to move to Tennessee and start over. So, I know im not alone with this thought process. My point is that sometimes we — maybe not all of you, but some of us… have situations where we feel like life would be better if we just ran away from everything, and moved far, far away to start over. Lets not forget about Frida, I wonder if she ever felt like running away.

What happens when we don’t run away? We rock on and conquer our problem! How wonderful is that? When we win!? We get to keep our life and continue with the process that we’ve been working on so hard to put together.  It’s so easy to forget about the big picture during these inconvenient situations. Frida Kahlo was a Surrealist painter. To me — it appears that she lived a rough life but managed to pull out the goodness that she could. She made lemonade.  Ms. Kahlo was born on July 6th 1907. I will tell you, her life was one hardship after another. First — when she was 6, she acquired Polio. This left her with a leg significantly thinner than the other. But she didn’t feel sorry for herself and run away, she made the most of it. It didn’t kill her. She said… hey, i’m still mobile, I can fix this, let me just wear long skirts to disguise my leg and I’ll be on my way…

Continuing on, Frida excelled in her education and attempted to pursue a medical degree. She studied hard and was accepted into one of Mexico’s top notch schools, the Escuela Nacional Preparatoria. But what happened?? Shes not famous for her medical discoveries, shes world renowned for her paintings.

Frida Kahlo was a Mexican painter. She lived a life with many hardships. When she was 15 she was in a bus accident and A sharp pole went through her vagina. These are the words of my Spanish professor. She introduced Frida’s story to our class in 2006. I can hear the biography through her voice so clearly.

On September 17, 1925, Kahlo was riding in a bus that collided with a trolley car. She suffered serious injuries because of the accident, including a broken spinal column, a broken collarbone, broken ribs, a broken pelvis, eleven fractures in her right leg, a crushed and dislocated right foot, and a dislocated shoulder. Also, an iron handrail pierced her abdomen and her uterus, compromising her reproductive capacity.

From that day on, she spent the rest of her life painting while she was trying to recover. She kept going. Frida was even a social butterfly. She was married to a painter she admired, Diego Rivera, and she didn’t stop there, Frida pushed the envelope and had several affairs. Her work is so unique. Her paintings were real — but not real, they were surreal. They had elements that seemed real but exaggerated. Illogical images were incorporated into the scene. Frida turned this tragedy into a beautiful result. She represented her thoughts through her paintings. Frida Kahlo said I never painted dreams. I painted my own reality. If you look at her work you will see how truthful it all is. There is no censorship to her thoughts. She’s blunt. Some stuff may offend the faint at heart, but it was her life.

When life hands you lemons, its important to make the most with them. Frida turned a series of unpleasant events into beauty. She painted over and over again and brought us into her world. Life is hard sometimes and its easy to feel like you’re the only one who has it rough. But sometimes when I am brought back to reality and reminded that no ones life is easy, it makes me feel better. Not because I am reminded that other people are having a rough time, but to know that I’m not the only one that is, to know that the world isn’t ganging up on me. When times get tough, its important to remember that things will get better if you rock on.

One response to “When life hands you lemons… ROCK ON!

  1. Great job. Like ur work.

Leave a Reply

