From Lemons to Lemonade: Fighting for an Adventure

Ordinary riches can be stolen, real riches cannot. In your heart and soul are precious things that can never be taken from you. Remember that…

—Oscar Wilde

When a journey starts out bad and we have to fight through it… it earns the title of an adventure. Adventures are precious irreplaceable thoughts locked in our heart allowing us to travel from here to then, right now. It is something so bitter it will make you tear with a sour face, but then, with the tiniest bit of sugar, is twisted into a thirst quenching refresher that you can not get enough of.

From mid December to mid January of 2010 I had the opportunity to travel to Italy for a month, Turin to be exact. From beginning to end, the trip was filled with unforgettable sub adventures. But today I will tell you about this one.

Turin is the home to the winter olympic games of 2006*. Two days after my arrival, my friend and friend’s room mate took me skiing on the renown mountain. We woke up earlier than the crack of dawn that morning, bundled up with layers of clothes worn under water proof clothes, covered our extremities with socks hats and gloves and we were on our way. The train ride took some time. I don’t remember.. maybe an hour – or two – or three, I forgot, but thats not the point. As the train trailed through I sat with my head leaning against the window and slept, occasionally opening my eyes to see the snow and trees passing by in the dark early morning.

Last stop. We’re here! As the doors split apart I stepped forward pressing my feet onto the ground and into the snow. I was greeted with a powerful blast of cold fresh air. The sky was still a midnight blue, lightened with gray, waiting for the sun to break through. To the right of me was the mountain inviting us over, looking above, the sky was sparkling with delicate crystals of ice finding their way to either the tip of my nose or the ground.

Stop! Photo op! We took lots of pictures here.

Here I am outside of the docked train parked at the station of Bardonecchia. Do you see how much snow there was? The snow is up to the seat of the bench behind me. I love it.

Here I am outside of the docked train parked at the station of Bardonecchia. Do you see how much snow there was? The snow is up to the seat of the bench behind me. I love it.

Moving right along we socialized with the workers, rented our skis, smashed our feet into the boots and were carried to the top of the mountain by a chair lift.

The day was filled with fun and excitement, slaloming down the mountain and such, stopping at the cabin on the top of the mountain for the most amazing hot chocolate and fantastic pizza.

One lemon. After hours of winter fun, we grew heavy and sluggish. Mutually, the three of us decided to give the mountain one more go. The chair lift picked us up at the bottom and slowly arrived to the top. Time to get off. We all did. except WACK! what was that? why is everything blank? Five blue birds and six sparkling gold stars were fluttering around my head. Slowly I trickled down into the snow. why are people running over and smashing snow into my head? don’t do that.. it will make my hair frizzy

My ski’s had gotten stuck under the ski’s of the people I was sitting in between as we were sliding off the the chair lift, preventing me from moving forward and the swing hit me in the head! Urgh.. How am I gonna get down now?

….Plus water…. From the moment I slid down and plopped to the floor the chair lift stopped dead in rotation. Friends, passerbyer’s and mountain workers came running over. My head hurt so much and I was in shock. Patrol guys were flashing lights into my eyes to make sure I did not have a concussion. They reacted quickly and concocted a plan. While waiting for help, I was invited to wait in the control room with the chair lift workers. I love this moment! I was able to hang out with them and talk to the Italian’s about their culture. They spoke some english and I spoke some Italian. Together, the three of us we were chatting up a storm. They were making  jokes and telling me everything will be fine. and Christmas was coming up! How nice it was hearing about the holiday lifestyles of these people. Thirty minutes later help had arrived. I was to ride halfway down with the patrol guy and be driven to the bottom on a snow mobile. Amazing! More time to share cultural stories. And down we went.

Can you see how wonderful this is? Instead of going down the mountain in your expected average way, being carried up by the chair lift and sliding down on two feet, I was given the gift of encountering a minor head injury allowing me to socialize plus a ride down on a snow mobile. The head injury was a small price to pay for the exciting adventure in return. What a gift!

With a dash of sugar…  At the end of the trip—on the train ride home, naturally it was very late. My two friends and I were resting in our seats. I noticed a young foreign guy sitting up ahead laughing with a group of his friends. He got up from his seat and headed towards us with a smile. He began to speak with us in Italian, with a non english nor Italian accent, but then it was an unsaid understanding that English was a common ground for all of us, so he changed his dialect. He wanted to know if we could help him choose the correct stop to get off from, and we did know. I knew our help meant a lot to him because when the conversation was over, he declared a great warm “God Bless Us!!” I’m pretty sure he meant God bless you, except his language translation jumbled up the content. Or, perhaps maybe he did mean “us” and wanted to include himself in the circle of blessings. Any how, I am grateful that he said his words that way, because had he not—I wouldn’t be sitting here with a great big grin on my face flashing back to that moment.

Creates lemonade! Adventures can not qualify as an adventure until after it has a happened and the moments have settled. Then we can look back and are able to know — that was an adventure — and it is preserved safe in our souls forever. I can save my ski trip in my pocket with out worries of losing it and keep it handy for whenever I am in need of smile.

What’s in your pocket?

Horan_Bardonecchia

Here I am at the top of Bardonecchia mountain preparing to make my way down (before the incident).


Thanks to this adventure, I was able to use the photos for a practice identity package for the KASTLE Ski Company for a class project. Check it out!
Kastle Ski Identity Redesign

Included is a composite of my ski pass from the day.

Included is a composite of my ski pass from the day. Overall, the design of the pass looks good. The colors are refreshing, energetic and pleasing to represent the mood of a beautiful cold day for skiing. The visual hierachy of the logo stands out with an emphasis on the first capitol B and ending in a capitol A. The logo is a little close to the top and could be moved down for more breathing room.  In order to make the appearance of the pass a little more visually pleasing, the white glow around the text should be eliminated. On the image to the right, a consistent right alignment of the text would look nice as well. In addition, the the circular seal and text could be adjusted to be a little more balanced with the words on the card.


Thanks for reading. As I stated in my last post… to take the pressure off of dear Frida Kahlo for sharing her lemons with the universe in my article “When life hands you lemons… ROCK ON!” I would like to share with you one of my lemons that can now be preserved as lemonade.


*2006 Winter Olympics

*Title inspired by Nick Montano who instructed me on the proper usage of the connection between from and to, inspiring the topic of the title From Lemons to Lemonade

Leave a Reply

