No Room at the Inn (Part II)

NRI2And so.. Swimming in the night, over and through the stars well into the morning and eccchhhhhhhheeeeeggm, I woke up Christmas morning with a scratchy throat. I stayed in bed.

Word spread and Batti called me downstairs. He gave me an over the counter medicine that was powder. The powder liquifies when water is added to it. The drink was a minty flavor with medicine too powerful to be sold in United States but powerful enough to blast through the phlegm in just a short amount of time and safely bring me to health in Italy. I took a nap while my friends went to visit family in town for a Christmas lunch. Batti stayed next door hosting the restaurant and told me if I wake up I am welcome to come down, I wanted to, but I felt shy, so I didn’t.

So — eeeeeeecccccchhhhhggggggghhh the phlegm broke through, I jumped out of bed and got dressed. I was picked up and greeted with a huge English hello by Ethan’s girlfriend and the five of us drove to a local Italian bar and spent the evening there with other Italian friends from the town.

And then we went back to the Inn and slept for the night; nothing too exciting. In the morning we went to another coffee place. You never run out of coffee places in Italy. So we went to one, and my throat was still a little scratchy and not ready for coffee. I will tell you what I had. The Barista had unlimited oranges on the marble bar top and she made me FRESH SQUEEZED ORANGE JUICE! so delicious. And guess what else today is. It is December 26th. my birthday! Ethan and Daniel planned to visit their Grandma and took us along with them. She lived in an apartment/house that was built in like the 1600’s. Ciao! Ciao! Comè stai!? aaah bennne!! e tù? aaaah molto bene!!! Grazzzie! We went inside and, I don’t know she was so warm and loving. I didn’t take any pictures of her beautiful home because I didn’t think it was appropriate to take pictures of the inside of her house.  She had made fresh home made spaghetti; it was on the counter ready to be boiled and she had orange peels on the stove simmering filling the air throughout the house with the smell of orange. Now — I will tell you I can not figure out how she did this. I have tried to repeat this natural orange air technique on my own and the peels always burn. If you know how, totally comment and let me know. She had the orange peels bare on the stove top.. not in anything, no water no oil, nothing. I don’t know how she did it. She was chatting up a storm in italian, Daniel and Ethan knew what she was saying. The time was so nice… I wasn’t home, but with this family I was home. Italian’s are great for making you feel that way. She served us the pasta with her very own Bolognese sauce and served us Panettone cake for dessart. She had like a classic tv with knobs and antennas. After we ate she showed us around her home. I kind of wanted to stay there for a long time. But we had places to be and people to see.

Alas, adventure awaits and guess what. It’s snowing! Ethan had the perfect car for snow. It could plow right through, but it wasn’t a snow plow truck. just a truck. Ethan said what do you want to do? And I said I want to go dancing. It was the middle of the afternoon. I didn’t think we’d actually go dancing. I just said it. But I guess a light bulb struck Ethan and he drove us around and we parked. Guess what we did. We went ice skating and skated to music. So it was pretty much like dancing. The thoughtfulness of the idea is beautiful. So we skated, and then it was snowing pretty heavy and we drove around for a while in the snow touring the woodland neighborhood. The area wasn’t your average Long Island suburb. It was more like a mountain town.

I think I mentioned this day is my birthday. When we arrived back to the Inn we were once hungry again.

And I will continue on with my story in Part III. Below are some pictures that I took on this day. You can see pictures of me in front of the Inn, Ethan chasing his dogs, a horse in the barn (did I mention they have a barn?) and some photo’s that I snapped on our drive through the storm. Oh yeah and me on the day time dance party Ice Skating rink!

Thanks for reading! Look forward to Part III coming soon! 🙂

HoranItaly_2396HoranItaly_2403

HoranItaly_2404

HoranItaly_2405

HoranItaly_2397

HoranItaly_2410HoranItaly_2416 HoranItaly_2417 HoranItaly_2418 HoranItaly_2419 HoranItaly_2420 HoranItaly_2421

HoranItaly_2424

HoranItaly_2428 HoranItaly_2439 HoranItaly_2440 HoranItaly_2443

Leave a Reply

